I'm raising money for necessary household items so I can stay Covid free and remain healthy.

Verified by Community & Home Supports, Inc. (CHS).

25% funded of $200 goal
25% Funded
$150 still needed   |   1 supporter

Why I'm using HandUp for necessary household items.

I am a disabled transgender person kindly asking for help with supplies to keep my home sanitary and Covid-free. As a person living with HIV, PTSD, and chronic pain it is very hard for me to meet a lot of my everyday needs on my own. I have faced lots of judgement and denial due to my gender identity. Please have compassion for me as a human being who has fell on hard times and needs a helping hand. Any contribution would be helpful and most certainly appreciated.

About me.

I'm from North Carolina, I've been in Detroit/Highland Park since 2010. I'm currently unemployed while fighting for SSDI. I've been denied several times since 2008. I don't have any contact with my family because I am transgender, they have chosen to disown me since I came out and put me in the foster care system as a result.

My backstory.

I was put into the foster care system once my family abandoned me and my little brother in October of 1998. I was in the system until 2008, to which I aged out and then became homeless for 2 years. I relocated to Detroit with hopes of a better way of life and better resources for LGBT people like myself. I was housed by NSO at the NSO Bell building upon their grand opening and transitioned out due to safety reasons. I now live on my own through Community & Home Supports.

My goals, moving forward.

I plan on going to college in the future to obtain a degree in Psychology. I would like to make a difference by advocating for policy change and to aim at end ending the stigma for the transgender community.

Read More
Post a message
300/300 left