I'm raising money for a kitchen fire so I can prevent being evicted from our home.

Verified by Lighthouse.

40% funded of $800 goal
40% Funded
$474.52 still needed   |   3 supporters

Why I'm using HandUp for a kitchen fire.

I am a single mother of 7 children. I was working 2 jobs before COVID-19 hit, and they had to let me go. I have been at home with my children since the shut-down began as I didn't have work, and all my children were receiving online schooling. Online schooling all my children has been a full time job. Recently, I had to make a trip out of state as one of my family member's passed away due to COVID-19. During the time I was away, there was a small kitchen fire in my house. I have to repair the damage or risk getting evicted. I am really nervous about the situation and don't want my family to become homeless again. I would greatly appreciate any help we can get coming up with the money for the repairs. Thank you!!

About me.

I am the proud mother of 7 beautiful children. I grew up in Pontiac and have a large extended family. It's important to me that my children have family around them. I work a lot of hours in the food service industry. I wish I was able to spend more time with my children, but I need to make sure they are being properly cared for. They mean the world to me.

My backstory.

I lost my housing back in 2010 when I was diagnosed with cancer and became too sick to work. As a single mom not able to work, I had no way to pay rent and keep a roof over my children's head. This is when we became homeless. At that time, it wasn't possible for us all to stay together, so I sent the children to live with different relatives and I found space in local shelters. We were homeless for 3 years until we found the SOS Housing Program in 2013.

My goals, moving forward.

I plan to continue working to support my children. As my kids get older and more independent, I want to try to go to college or a trade school to further my education. I always emphasize how important an education is to my kids, and I want to lead by example. I was working 2 jobs before COVID-19. My employer had to let me go when COVID-19 hit due to everything being shut-down.

Other things I'd like to share about myself.

Despite the hard times we've gone through as a family, my kids have made honor roll at their school for the past few years! I couldn't be prouder of them. They mean everything to me, and I want them to have the best life possible.

Read More
Post a message
300/300 left