I'm raising money for basic needs.

Verified by Project Homeless Connect.


About me.

I am originally from Chicago, Illinois and moved to San Francisco when I was 18 years old. I have been struggling with homelessness since the age of 18 years. Before I got this job, I was spending a lot of my time seeking employment and accessing resources to assist in my stabilization to better my life. I am up at the crack of dawn to shower at the drop-in center and generally do not have time to get a morning meal, and then I'm off to work.

My backstory.

I arrived in San Francisco in 1998 after escaping a domestic violence situation in Chicago, Illinois. I did not have any resources, friends, or family assistance when I arrived in San Francisco, and I was immediately homeless. I've slept in abandoned buildings, cars, doorways, under bridges, stairs, and in the rain. About the best help I received to stabilize myself was through reaching out to people I did not know and asking about available resources. I have never had a place to call my own but I am hopeful, and struggling on to better stabilize myself and my living situation.

My goals, moving forward.

Up until now, my main goal was to obtain employment. I was applying for jobs and interviewing every day. Now that I am employed, my plan is to save for my security deposit so I will have a place to live and stabilize myself to stay out of homelessness. I would like to move from this part-time position to a full-time job.

Other things I'd like to share about myself.

There are many more folks who find themselves in some pretty tight circumstances. I've learned a lot from being homeless in San Francisco, and I'm able to share my experience of what I've been through with other people who are in a similar situation. It just puts a smile in my heart to provide this support to someone in need. My wildest dream is to go to Thailand for two weeks and experience the food, culture, and customs there.

Read More
Post a message
300/300 left
Loading...