I'm raising money for basic needs so I can Use this area to explain why Carmen is fundraising for driver's license. continue moving toward my goal of getting a vehicle so that I can survive while I'm between housing.

Verified by Project Homeless Connect.

Why I'm using HandUp for my basic needs.

Due to an injury from a hit and run, I recently had to spend six months in the hospital. While I was in the hospital, I lost my housing. I received the papers the day I got back from the hospital, two days before Thanksgiving. I lost everything. Being without housing is hard on my body due to my injuries, so any additional support you can offer is greatly appreciated!

About me.

I was born here in San Francisco and have lived mostly here all my life. I went to University of the Pacific for my bachelor's degree and graduated with a degree in psychology and human development. I went through a Ph.D. Clinical Psychology program in Memphis, Tennessee, but I wasn't able to finish this degree due to economic reasons and ended up getting my Master's of Science in psychology. I previously worked as an educational counselor at San Francisco Unified School District and City College, as well as Contra Costa College.

My backstory.

I was not able to obtain a full time position as a counselor, and did not receive any benefits through my counseling position. I also had health issues with my teeth, where I had abscesses that prevented me from being able to seek employment opportunities. Both of my parents died when I was really young, and I did not have any family financial support in these situations. I was on my own. I was previously in a 20-year domestically violent relationship with my husband at the time. Since then, I moved out and have a restraining order against him. I am now in a healthy relationship with my current boyfriend for ten years now, and I finally feel safe and rewarded. I am currently living in a shelter, where I have been for a year now. I am hoping that my life can move along soon and I can obtain my own place.

My goals, moving forward.

I am working on obtaining SSI. I realize now how much my domestic violence relationship affected me, and often I experience claustrophobia and PTSD. I am trying to work on these areas of my life, which is hard in the shelter system as there is little privacy. I am working hard on getting permanent housing. After obtaining housing, I would love to write a book about my life experiences, and a guide about how to survive homelessness. I have experience writing in the past, having written a thesis in 1986. I was even noted as mentor of the year at Contra Costa College and have gotten some other awards. I also have a teaching credential that I would like to put to some use.

Other things I'd like to share about myself.

With a driver's license, I would be able to get to the ocean and exercise, which I never get to do now. I used to have a moped. If I could, my dream would be to get a moped again which would be mobile, environmentally friendly, and would help me get to my appointments on time.

Read More
Post a message
300/300 left